Uber announces New Privacy Settings within the App

Uber introduces new significant change to its Privacy Setting System within the app, rolling out to users over the next few weeks. Uber App will include a dedicated menu where users can easily control how the company collects information about them. Now on wards, Let users grant or withhold location data from within the app, a choice previously made at the operating system level.

Uber announced in a blogpost that,

“simple explanations accompany each control to help you understand when information is shared with us and how it’s used.”

New Privacy Settings

  • Dedicated Privacy Settings Menu : All current and future privacy-related controls can be found in one place.

  • Location You can easily view your location with extra guidance which gives you a better option.

  • Account Deletion : Through a self-service deletion process, you can easily delete your account without having to contact Uber support. You can also reactivate your account within 30 days.

  • Mobile Notifications : You can receive push notifications regarding discount updates and trip status alerts.

Using this latest privacy options, Uber may earn some goodwill from those who argue tech companies don’t do enough to inform users about their date collection practices.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *