Panic Mode Available in Android 7.1 to Provide Security Against Infected App

Android 7.1 with a panic mode provides security against Infected App. The Panic mode is triggered by repeatedly pressing the back button for times in a row. Once this panic mode is activated, the device is brought back to the desktop, closing every app that’s running and bypassing any further locks.

What is Panic Detection?

“The panic detection system works with a grace time of 0.3 seconds per tap, as Android needs to detect whether the user is indeed trying to activate this feature or only pressing the back button to go to a previous screen or app.”

“According to XDA, if a rogue application attempts to hijack the user’s screen and prevent the user from leaving (perhaps by implementing an Accessibility Service to intercept all key events), Android will itself override the application to bring back the home screen. The user can then presumably uninstall the malicious application from the launcher.

Google’s new feature should be able to bypass the lock system that ransomware typically comes with, so by pressing the back button 4 times, users would be capable of going back to the desktop and then remove the app that they believed contains the malware or install security software that could help clean the infection. This feature is not enabled by default and every Android OEM need to activate it on their devices.

Google hasn’t yet announced this feature officially, and there’s a good chance that future forms of malware specifically targeting Android would employ systems that could block the panic detection system. This is why Google should continue developing security features for its mobile operating system, while at the same time trying to block scam apps from reaching Android devices in the first place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *