WhatsApp has launched ‘delete for everyone’ feature for Android, iOS, and Windows users. Delete For Everyone feature is going to be a time-sensitive feature. Users will be able to recall messages only within seven minutes of sending it. If a message is not recalled within 7 seven minutes, users will not be able to recall it.
How Delete For Everyone Works?
Delete For Everyone works similar to how Gmail Undo works. It seems that when the feature is enabled and when you revoke a message, WhatsApp would send a copy of your message to the receiver. When the recipient receives that false copy, his phone won’t show you the notification and it won’t save it in his chat history. However, it will check if there is the ID of the message in the database: on the off chance that it will discover the message, the message will be recalled.
WhatsApp said in FAQ
“Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake.”
“Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with ‘This message was deleted’ in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see ‘This message was deleted’ in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.”
Delete for Everyone doesn’t work in following conditions
- The message contained in a quoted message cannot be revoked.
- Do not possible to delete for everyone messages sent in a Broadcast List.
- Messages can be recalled only within 7 minutes of time frame after which you cannot recall or revoke it.
- The feature works only if both sender and receiver are using the updated version of WhatsApp.
- The feature does not work for Symbian OS.